[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

My DiaryLand Diary
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-10-27 - 10:32 a.m.

This weekend a funny thing happened to me. I have to start at the beginning... a hundred years ago, another lifetime ago... okay the mid 80's when I was in high school. I had this boyfriend, I�ll call him J. So J and I were "going out" for a couple of years, he was very involved with my family, we spent holidays together, etc. So one day I got an anonymous phone call from a guy saying I should know where J is. So I called him and called him, he wasn�t home. Finally, I got him on the phone and told him what had happened and asked where he was. Well, turns out he was at a girls house, I�ll call her L. She was in my high school too and we were friends. Let me just mention that I went to a small parochial school with only 32 kids in my class.

He was cheating on me and was caught� I broke up with him and he kept calling me and showing up at my house with flowers and coming by begging to get back together, he said he was sorry and that I was the one he wanted to be with, blah, blah, blah�The girls that I was closest with in school (kind of the mean girls�I was the nicest of the bunch, really, I�m not just saying that) were constantly getting into it with L and her �group.� There was one defining moment that I remember very clearly. Our school had a dance and L was in the bathroom, one of my friends said to L something about leaving J alone that he wanted to be with me� (I know this is very high schoolish. It WAS high school) so L said to me that J told her that he wanted to be with her. I told her well then why did he bring me flowers last night???? So we went and confronted him, the two of us face to face with him. He told L that he wanted to be with me and she went off crying and I felt like the winner. Why I wanted him at that point is beyond me, I�m sure it was more of a ha, ha...he wants me kind of thing. Strangely, I don�t remember ever being heartbroken over any of this because I was in love with him. It was more an ego thing than anything else. Maybe time just fades those feelings though.

Okay, so fast forward 15 years� I�m rushing around this weekend trying to get ready to go to a birthday party for a two year old. I have my husband and the kids in the car. The baby is crying, my husband is trying to give him a bottle in the car seat and I�m running into CVS to get a card to go with the gift, we are already running super late and we have to drive an hour to get to party, in the rain.

I run into the store, go to the card isle and who the hell is there, J�and �L together standing right in front of the children�s birthday cards. They were TOGETHER! I hadn�t seen her since high school, I saw him a couple of times when I was in college, but we went our separate ways and I hadn�t heard or spoke to him since my sophomore year at the university. I had heard through the grapevine that she got pregnant by him, (rumor has it on purpose, but who knows) he joined the army and they ended up married, eventually with three kids and were getting divorced years later. I knew all this but I hadn�t seen either of them in YEARS.

So here I am at CVS trying to get in and out of there as fast as I can, and I can�t get to the frigin cards. I would have said hi them individually, but something about them being together, I just couldn�t. I waited and waited for them to move. They were there forever. Finally, they moved down a bit so they weren�t directly in from of the cards that I needed. I spotted a card with a big 2 on it, covered my face with my hair, grabbed the card and ran�.

The killer is that they both look great. I hate to say it. They are thin and clearly in-shape. Okay, so there is proof positive J and I didn�t belong together. I hate working out. I called a couple of my old high school friends, because I had to tell them what had happened. Turns out J runs and WINS marathons.

When I got back to the car my husband asked what had taken me so long. I asked him if I had ever told him about J from high school. I hadn�t, so I told him all about it on the way to the party. My husband is great, he just laughed.

I would not change how my life turned out for anything in the world. I have the most amazing husband and wonderful children. But it was very strange to be staring at my past like that. All I could think of when I saw J was, WOW� that�s the guy I lost my virginity to�.

I have no idea if they are happy together. I hope they are. Things worked out they way they were meant to.

previous - next

Disney... Disney....Disney - 2006-03-05

Stuff - 2006-02-18

She's back - 2006-01-22

Short update - 2005-12-23

I hate shopping - 2005-12-10

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!