[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

My DiaryLand Diary
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-11-22 - 10:05 a.m.

This morning I accepted the job offer. I let my current employer (AKA my mother) know that I am moving on- this was in between tears in a high squeaky- I'm trying to continue to talk while unsuccessfully holding back tears- discussion. I told her that I was tired of being mad at her and I really just wanted my mother back. We all have heard that business and family don't mix... well I'm here to tell you, that in my case, that is sooooooooooo true. I made the move for the flexibility it allowed me for my kids- and that part was great. But there was a definite trade off. I'm sure I'll go on wondering if I made the right decision for my children's sake, but I know in my heart, that this is a better situation. It may not be perfect, part time is really what I would prefer, but it�s better... The company I'll be working at is a smaller place 70 employees or so and offers some scheduling flexibility, open to occasional work from home and I'm reporting to a working mother who gets the challenges of being a professional working mother.

The next thing on my list is to move closer to the place where I'll be working. It's about 45 minutes away, add the drop off and pick up and it makes for a very long day. One thing at a time. I do love my house and my neighborhood; we are on a dead end and have lake view property. So it would mean giving up a lot. Property values go up as you get closer to where I'll be working, so it would probably mean making a lateral move or even getting a smaller house for more money... that would stink.

We'll have to wait and see what happens.

What else? I let the preschool Haley is in know her last day will be on Dec. 8 and the new preschool know she will be starting. Nate will be going there for one day a week too.

I go through stages of being so happy to have found a job that I will really enjoy doing and that won't require any travel (this is rare in my field) to feeling like I am a rotten mother for putting my own need for sanity over their need for my time. I am an emotional wreck. I'm feeling like I really do not handle change very well. I used to think that I was the type of person that would just �go with the flow�, �roll with the punches�, but I don't think that anymore. Now change takes a lot out of me. I don't want things to remain the same but I'm so emotional over the change. Wow, I sound like a crazy lady.

So, that is it for now. Thanksgiving at my parent�s house ought to be interesting.

Until later.

previous - next

Disney... Disney....Disney - 2006-03-05

Stuff - 2006-02-18

She's back - 2006-01-22

Short update - 2005-12-23

I hate shopping - 2005-12-10

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!