[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

My DiaryLand Diary
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-12-01 - 4:57 p.m.

My baby boy was hospitalized last night. He is home now, but he had a bad case of croup last night and scared the hell out of me. It came on so fast. When I took him home around four yesterday he had a little flem coming up and sounded like he was coming down with a cold. I took him home, gave him some Tylenol cold and flu and played with him on the floor. He seemed fine except just a little congested. Around seven he fell asleep. This was early for him, but I didn't think much of it because I thought he was getting sick. The next thing I know around nine o'clock, he's barking like a seal. I brought him into the bathroom and steamed up the room with the shower. That didn't help. I started to suspect it was croup and somewhere along the way I was told to bring the child outside if you suspect croup, the cold air helps open the air way. So I grabbed my coat, wrapped it around him and brought him outside. It was a warm night and it didn't help him a bit. It started to get worse, so I called the emergency on-call line at his pediatricians and left a message of what was going on. I waited and waited and no one was calling me back, so I said to my husband, just get Haley dressed. We are taking him to the emergency room. By this point he was gasping for breath. The phone rang and it was the doctor�s office. He said to get him to the hospital for a treatment. Now he is really gasping, and I am started to get really, really scared so I called 911 and had an ambulance come. They show up and start saying things that continue to scare me, like his chest is very tight; they immediately start giving him oxygen. They bring us into the ambulance and the paramedics show up and say that he needs to be in a car seat. So, we got the car seat all strapped in and he screams bloody murder when I put him in it, he gave me this panicked look of horror, that I will never get out of my head, now he could breath and he couldn't move. I felt sooooo bad for him. We got to the hospital finally and they confirmed it was croup. They gave him a breathing treatment and a shot of some kind of steroid. He ended up being admitted to the hospital at about 2am and was monitored closely because his oxygen levels kept dipping and then he developed a fever. He was better during the morning and he was released around 2pm today. The doctor said to expect him to get worse tonight, and gave us a prescription that we are suppose to give him to help ease the symptoms, but we are expecting another long night, but this one will be at home, know what to expect and hopefully how to deal with it.

We were so scared last night. In the ten years I have known my husband; I have never seen him cry. He did last night.

There is nothing worse in this world than having something scary happen to one of your children. Thank God we live in a time when modern medicine can treat these types of illnesses. Thank you God for keeping my family safe.

previous - next

Disney... Disney....Disney - 2006-03-05

Stuff - 2006-02-18

She's back - 2006-01-22

Short update - 2005-12-23

I hate shopping - 2005-12-10

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!